Will ETIAS apply to British citizens resident in Austria covered under the Withdrawal Agreement?

Frontex, the European Border and Coast Guard Agency, confirms that holders of residence permits covered by the Withdrawal AgreementWithdrawal Agreement The Withdrawal Agreement sets out the terms of the UK’s withdrawal from the EU and provides for a deal on citizens’ rights. It sets out a transition period which lasts until 31 December 2020. During this time you can continue to live, work and study in the EU broadly as you did before 31 January 2020.   If you are resident in Austria at the end of the transition period, you will be covered by the Withdrawal Agreement, and your rights will be protected for as long as you remain resident in Austria.   Any rights that are not covered by the Withdrawal Agreement will be the subject of future negotiations.   https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/new-withdrawal-agreement-and-political-declaration   will be exempt from ETIASEuropean Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) The European Commission's proposed European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) is intended to strengthen security checks on those persons who travel visa-free to the EU, currently nationals from over 60 countries. The largely automated IT system will identify any security or irregular migratory risks posed by visa-exempt visitors travelling to the Schengen area, whilst at the same time facilitating crossing borders for the vast majority of travellers who do not pose such risks. Non-EU nationals who do not need a visa to travel to the Schengen area will have to apply for a travel authorisation through the ETIAS system prior to their trip. It is due to go live in 2024.:

ETIAS exemptions for British nationals beneficiaries of the Withdrawal Agreement

Those UK nationals who are beneficiaries of the Withdrawal Agreement will be exempt from ETIAS: they can not only reside on the territory of their EU host country, but also travel to other Member States of the Schengen areaSchengen Area The Schengen Area is European border control-free travel area, consisting of all EU Member States except for Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania, as well as Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein. for a short-stay without an ETIAS travel authorisation.

Source: https://frontex.europa.eu/future-of-border-control/etias/#collapse-faq-AN2Z4-18

Official EU ETIAS Travel Site:
Official ETIAS FAQ Site:


Approximately 6 months prior to the launch of ETIAS (source: Your Europe Direct), something called the Entry and Exit System (EES) is likely to become operational within Schengen. This introduces the EU Smart borders system which will be used to count how many days Third Country Nationals spend in the Schengen Area and will replace the old passport stamping. Withdrawal Agreement beneficiaries, along with other Austrian residence permit holders should also be exempt from this. However, people are advised to ensure that their passport information and residency permit information are in synch (e.g. update MeldezettelMeldezettel Austria requires everyone living in Austria (both Austrians and foreigners) to register their place(s) of residence with the local authorities. The confirmation of this registration is called a Meldebestätigung (EN: confirmation of registration), although it is still affectionately known to many by its former name (the Meldezettel). This is done at your Meldeamt in the Gemeinde or Bezirk you live in. You are required to do your registration within three days of arrival. It is important to do this also because your qualification for permanent residence starts to run from the point of your registration. with latest passport).

Was this content useful?


By Michael Bailey

Naturalised Austrian born in SW England, studied in Scotland and living in Austria since 2000.